West Virginia Association of Concerned Classified Employees

Meeting Minutes

November 8, 2000

Marshall University Graduate College


Concord CollegeAmy Pitzer
Glenville State CollegeLinda Carney
Marshall UniversityStephanie Neal
Marshall University Graduate College (MUGC)Martha Pierson (proxy)
R. C. Byrd Health Sciences Ctr/Charleston Div.Rena Cosby
Shepherd CollegeAnna Mary Walsh
Southern WV Community & Technical CollegeRita Roberson
West Liberty State CollegeBarbara Neuman
West Virginia NetworkKelly Pryor (proxy)
WV Northern Community CollegeZac Wycherley
WV School of Osteopathic MedicineEllen Broudy
West Virginia State CollegeJenny Fertig
West Virginia UniversityPaul Martinelli
WVU @ ParkersburgJoAnn Backus (proxy)


Marshall University Graduate CollegeJoe Taylor
West Virginia NetworkHarper Grimm
WVU @ ParkersburgViolet Mosser


Bluefield State CollegeRon Holt
Fairmont State CollegePatty Vingle
Higher Education Policy Commission (HEPC) Office Celia Vanater
Potomac State College of WVULibby Nichols
WVU Institute of TechnologyJim Darling


Margaret Buttrick, HEPC Liaison


It was moved, seconded and passed to approve the minutes of the October 4, 2000, ACCE meeting as written.


Ms. Buttrick had made a presentation to the HEPC Finance Committee as a discussion item that morning. ACCE members were present. She presented background, possible options and changes, and considerations related to Salary Schedule and Classification and Compensation Program for Classified Staff. Copies of her handouts are attached.

Ms. Buttrick reviewed costs of various salary schedule options with the ACCE and talked about the option that seemed to generate the most interest at the HEPC meeting. This option would bifurcate the classification system into exempt and non-exempt. The determination of exempt and non-exempt varies from campus to campus and there is a group of positions that are in a "grey" area. The Job Evaluation Committee (JEC) would determine which they are. All non-exempt positions are handled by the JEC and exempt positions could be but do not have to be. This must comply with Fair Labor Standards. Ms. Buttrick said the campus Presidents seem to favor continuing with a classification system.

There was much discussion and questioning on this subject due to a perception of differences between the presentation to the HEPC and additional details presented to the ACCE.

Legislative changes will probably be addressed at the December meeting of the HEPC. Ms. Buttrick described some potential language changes relating to ACCE representation from the HEPC and WVNET Offices and term limits for Faculty, Staff and Student Advisory Council representatives, and distributed the text (attached).


Eleven of the ACCE representatives present at the meeting also attended the HEPC meeting that morning. They were invited to ask questions of Ms. Buttrick and make comments to the Finance Committee. HEPC Chair John Hoblitzell requested that the ACCE provide the HEPC with written recommendations for Classification and Compensation Programs and Salary Schedules. Much of the meeting was devoted to defining what the ACCE would support for Classified Staff in higher education. Work on the document will continue during the coming weeks. ACCE representatives will seek input on their campuses and will ask the campus Classified Staff Councils to endorse the recommendations.


Senator Lloyd Jackson has expressed willingness to meet with the ACCE and asked for our meeting dates. We will suggest Thursday, January 4, 2001, at MUGC, or Tuesday, January 23, 2001, or any day that week, at a location of his choice.


The HEPC will meet at Marshall University on December 12, 2000 with a dinner the evening before. Ms. Neal will arrange for us to be invited to the dinner at 6:00 PM on December 11, 2000. We will have a "bifurcated" meeting. The first part will be at 1 PM, December 11, 2000, to complete the recommendations to the HEPC and other business. After attending the HEPC meeting and luncheon in the morning, we will meet again at approximately 2:00 PM on December 12, 2000. All meetings will take place at MU and Ms. Neal will make arrangements.


Harper Grimm from WVNET will replace Kelly Pryor on the ACCE for the remainder of the 2000-2001 term. Recorder Ellen Broudy will become "owner" of the Listserv and Chair of the Web Page Committee. Ms. Pryor will continue to update the Web page as necessary.

Linda Carney from Glenville State College will return to the ACCE, replacing Scot Montgomery for the remainder of the 2000-2001 term.

Mr. Martinelli submitted a report (attached) on a Legislative Forum held at WVU on October 18, 2000.

President Amy Pitzer will send a letter of thanks to HEPC Finance Committee Chair Tom Jones and inform him about the recommendations we will be sending. She will also send a congratulatory letter to Governor Elect Wise.


It was moved, seconded and passed to adjourn the meeting.