Lawyers and Literature

James R. Elkins

assignments archive

| spring | 2017 |

Getting Started & Thinking about Reading

1st Class--Wednesday, January 11. 2017

2nd Class--Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Law School Stories (and a Few Poems)

Assignment: Wednesday, January 25. 2017
Lowell Komie Stories

Assignment: Wednesday, February 1. 2017
Lowell Komie Stories--Pt2

Assignment: Wednesday, February 8. 2017
:: Stories ::
"Weight"--Margaret Atwood
"Puttermesser"--Cynthia Ozick
"Let's Do"--Rebecca Meacham

Assignment: Wednesday, February 15. 2017
Russell Banks, The Sweet Hereafter [an excerpt]

Assignment: Wednesday, February 22. 2017
:: Stories ::
"Puppy"--Richard Ford | "Tome"--Maile Meloy
"Witness"--Madison Smartt Bell | "Deposition"--Tobias Wolff

Assignment: Wednesday, March 1. 2017
Melville, Bartleby, the Scrivener

March 8. 2017: Spring Break

Assignment: Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tolstoy, The Death of Ivan Ilych

Assignment: Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Leslie Hall Pinder, On Double Tracks

Assignment: Wednesday, March 29, 2017
An Evening with James Clarke's Oblique Verdicts

Assignment: Wednesday, April 5, 2017

John William Corrington Stories
"A Day in Thy Court" & "Every Act Whatever of Man"

Logos, Lex, and Law: A Corrington Essay

Elkins Essay on John William Corrington

Assignment: Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Writing the Course | Deirdre Purdy Essay
Essays & Articles in the "composition of fragments" folder

Read to Write
course website

Assignment: Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Writing the Course

  Lawyers and Literature Home Page